If you are injured, call 911 or ask someone else to do so. If you are seriously injured, try not to move, and wait for emergency personnel.
If you are not injured and able to move, check on the other passengers of your vehicle. If anyone is injured, call 911 or ask someone else to do so.
If your vehicle is safe to drive and is causing a hazard where it is, pull it to the side of the road or sidewalk. Otherwise, leave it where it is and get everyone to safety.
Remember to turn off your engine, turn on your hazards lights, and if available use road flares or warning signs.
Even if it was a non-injury crash with minor damage or a major collision, calling the police is important. In some states it is legally required. The responding officers will fill out an accident investigation report and document the scene. If law enforcement cannot come to the scene, fill out a University Crash Report, which if requested can be provided to law enforcement.
After making sure you and any passengers are uninjured, exchange contact and insurance information with the other driver.
Do Not Discuss Fault!
University Risk Management recommends that you avoid discussing fault when going over the facts with the other driver. Fault will be determined after review by University Fleet Management, University Risk Management and the other parties insurance claim adjuster.
Determination of fault is based on information provided in your crash report, the other parties crash report, inspection of the vehicles/property damaged, and any supporting documentation, like the police report or photographs from the scene.
University Risk management recommends you collect from the other party:
- Driver Name, License Number & Issuing State
- Insurance Company & Policy Number
- Vehicle Year, Make, Model, Color & License Plate Number
- Owner Name & Contact Information
- Location of Crash
- Once the police arrive, get the name and badge number of all responding officers.
- Ask the police officers present where you can obtain a copy of the crash report. Fleet Management and Risk Management may ask for a copy of the report.
- Document the accident thoroughly by taking pictures of your vehicle from different angles, showing the damage done to both cars. It might also be a good idea to take pictures of the other car's license plate.
- Write down the names and addresses of all parties involved, including any passengers in the other vehicle.
- If there were any witnesses to the accident, take down their names and their contact information, as well.
Notify your supervisor and contact University Fleet Management while you are at the scene.
A vehicle crash can leave even the most seasoned driver frazzled, but following these steps may help protect you from unnecessary worries. Using this guide you can focus on working with Fleet Management to get your vehicle repaired as smoothly and as quickly as possible.
Fleet Management Phone Contacts
Please complete a University of Nebraska Crash Report within 10 days.
Hint: After selecting the appropriate crash report form, email the file to yourself along with the information you obtained from the other driver.
- University of Nebraska-Lincoln Crash Report Form
- University of Nebraska-Omaha Crash Report Form
- University of Nebraska Medical Center Crash Report Form
- University of Nebraska-Kearney Crash Report Form
Within Nebraska, injury crashes or with damage greater than $1,500 require the Nebraska DOT Crash Report Form.